Entry regulations

Entry regulations

All visitors to Indonesia must carry national passports or another internationally-recognized form of travel document. The passport or travel document must allow for travel to Indonesia. Visitors from some countries can enter Indonesia without visas.

Visitors from other countries will need to have at least six months validity remaining on their passports or travel documents. They must also hold tickets for onward or return travel.

Visa exemption:

Nationals from the following 11 countries do not need visas to enter Indonesia for up to 30 days: Brunei, Macau, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Chile, Ecuador, Morocco, Peru, Philippines.

One-month visa-free visit

People from the following countries can receive visas on arrival (VOA) at major ports of entry: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Algeria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Cambodia, Canada, Cyprus, China, Denmark, Estonia, Egypt, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Iceland, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Laos, Latvia, Libya, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Maldives, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, the Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, South Africa, South Korea, Surname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tunisia, Timor Leste, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, the United States of America.

A VOA costs US$25. You may be required to show a return air ticket. A 30-day VOA can be extended for 30 days for a fee of US$25. Visitors planning stay on a VOA for longer than 30 days must mention this when first applying for a VOA.

Visit Visa

Nationals not covered by the above, who are visiting for other purposes or who need to remain in Indonesia for longer periods will need to apply for Visit Visas. Furthermore, there are security concerns in some parts of Indonesia. Certain regions of Indonesia require special permission to visit. Special approval and written permission is required before travelling to Poso or Iian Jaya / West Papua.

For other parts of Indonesia, a range of Visit Visas is available. These include Tourist visas for tourism, Social visas for visiting friends or family, and Business visas. All of these are available for single entries and multiple entries, though the maximum stay allowed is 60 days. For Journalist visas, contact your local Indonesian embassy or consulate.

4 Day Bali Classic Tour

Asian Trails Travel Sites

Asia Tourist Information and Travel Guides: